Sappho from Lesbos

“Some say the Muses are nine: how careless!
Look, there’s Sappho too, from Lesbos, the tenth”.
                                        Epigram ascribed to Plato 

DT4217

Sappho’s charm

Why do I find myself a victim to Sappho’s charm? Those of you, who presume it is due to a particular vulnerability to the erotic aspect of her poetry, will be disappointed by my rather prosaic explanation. I do, of course, enjoy it as much as anyone else but I consider myself no expert on poetry (or on matters of love, to quote Socrates.).

Sappho’s charm lies in an element manifesting itself in the fragments of her work and directly clashing with classical ancient Greek thought. I’m referring to her individualism. The ancient Greek city (“polis”) at least as illustrated in the philosophical theories of Plato and Aristotle, did not distinguish or give prominence to the individual but it rather formed an organic societal whole into which persons were integrated by nature. They constituted part of a whole, as the hands and feet form part of the human organism. The famous Aristotelian quote “human beings are political (social) animals” implies this exact organic integration leaving no room for a concept of independence of the organism’s components.

Particularly in the work of Plato, the ideal of achieving maximum unity of the city reaches its extremes through the proposition of women being held in common and children being raised collectively. For the ruling class there are no boundaries. Not even in the bedroom. Their authority even extends to determining the appropriate coupling for the males and females of the community even by means of rigged draws.

Sappho’s poetry appears incompatible with classical tradition, not so much due to its praising of love as by reason of the way which the poet chooses to do it.

She acknowledges love as a unique experience with the power to enthrall humans; this is the universal element of her poetry making it intellectually accessible to all. At the same time, however, her personal reflections, feelings and psychological conditions induced by love are so intensely portrayed that the prevailing impression we are left with is that of love being the force determining our place in the world. (“greener than grass I am and dead- or almost I seem to me”)

The fusion between the collective and the individualistic is fundamental to the determination of one’s place in the world. Ancient tradition puts unevenly significant emphasis on exploring the collective. No other ancient Greek leads us, as Sappho does, to reflect on our self-concept in the light of the, par excellence, individualistic state, that of love.

* As I was browsing art collections to see depictions of Sappho in art I came across this photo from the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. The artist, Julia Margaret Cameron was born and lived in India during the 19th century. She often used as a model Mary Hillier, a beautiful young woman who worked as a servant in her house. Mary’s face was used to depict both Virgin Mary and Sappho. The curator who has composed the entry in the digital catalogue of the museum wonders why Mary’s face brought Sappho to the artist’s mind. To me it’s crystal clear. Beauty springs from the individuality of the person  the way Sappho described in her poems*

Η γοητεία της Σαπφούς

Γιατί είμαι θύμα της γοητείας της Σαπφούς; Όσοι υποθέτουν κάποια ιδιαίτερη συγκίνηση από τα ερωτικά της ποιήματα θα απογοητευτούν από την πεζή εξήγηση που δίνω. Φυσικά, αρέσουν και σε μένα όπως σε αναρίθμητους άλλους ανθρώπους, αλλά δεν είμαι «ειδήμων» στη ποίηση (ούτε άλλωστε στα ερωτικά, για να χρησιμοποιήσω μια έκφραση που έλεγε για τον εαυτό του ο Σωκράτης).

Η γοητεία της βρίσκεται σε ένα στοιχείο που αναδύεται καθαρά από τα συντρίμμια της ποίησής της και έρχεται σε αντίθεση με την κλασική αρχαία παράδοση. Εννοώ τον ατομισμό της. Η αρχαία πόλις, τουλάχιστον στις θεωρίες του Πλάτωνος  και του Αριστοτέλη, δεν διέκρινε ατομικότητα, ήταν ένα οργανικό σύνολο, μέσα στο οποίο οι άνθρωποι ήταν εκ φύσεως ενταγμένοι. Αποτελούσαν μέρος ενός όλου, όπως τα χέρια και τα πόδια αποτελούν μέρος του ανθρώπινου οργανισμού. Η περίφημη φράση του Αριστοτέλη «ο άνθρωπος φύσει πολιτικόν ζώον [εστί]”  (κοινωνικό) υποδηλώνει ακριβώς αυτή την οργανική ένταξη που δεν άφηνε περιθώριο για αυτοτέλεια των μερών.

Ιδιαίτερα στον Πλάτωνα, προσπάθεια δημιουργίας της μεγαλύτερης δυνατής ένωσης της πόλεως φτάνει στα άκρα με την πρότασή του για κοινοκτημοσύνη των γυναικών και παιδιών. Για τους άρχοντες δεν υπάρχουν πουθενά τείχη ούτε στην κρεβατοκάμαρα. Αυτοί κανονίζουν τα ζευγαρώματα αρσενικών και θηλυκών, αν χρειαστεί, και με κλήρους πειραγμένους

Η ποίηση της Σαπφούς είναι ασυμβίβαστη με την κλασική παράδοση όχι τόσο επειδή υμνεί τον έρωτα αλλά κυρίως με τον τρόπο που το κάνει. Τον αναγνωρίζει ως μοναδική εμπειρία που μπορεί να συνεπάρει τον καθένα κι εδώ υπάρχει το οικουμενικό στοιχείο, το οποίο κάνει την ποίησή της προσιτή σε όλους. Ταυτόχρονα, όμως, είναι τόσο έντονες  οι προσωπικές σκέψεις, τα αισθήματα και οι καταστάσεις που ο έρωτας προκαλεί, ώστε δημιουργείται η εντύπωση ότι από αυτόν τελικά εξαρτάται η θέση μας στο κόσμο («λίγο ακόμα και νεκρή θα απομείνω»).

Η συνάρτηση του συλλογικού και ατομικού είναι θεμελιώδης για τον προσδιορισμό της θέσης μας στο κόσμο. Η αρχαία παράδοση είναι άνισα προσανατολισμένη στη διερεύνηση του συλλογικού. Κανείς άλλος από τους αρχαίους δεν μας ωθεί, όπως η Σαπφώ, να στοχαστούμε την ύπαρξή μας υπό το πρίσμα του κατ’ εξοχήν ατομικού, του έρωτα.

References (for further exploration)

– Alcaeus (F 384):      ἰόπλοκ’ ἄγνα μελλιχόμειδε Σάπφοι

          You with strands of hair in violet, O holy [(h)agna] one, you with the honey-sweet smile, O Sappho!

– Socrates characterizes her as good (καλή) Πλάτων Φαίδρος.
Aristotle asserts that she was honoured in antiquity (“although she was a woman”).
In Rhetoric (1. 1367a) he mentions a dialogue between Alcaeus and Sappho:
{He:} I want to say something to you, but I am prevented by
shame [aidōs] …
{She:}But if you had a desire for good and beautiful things
and if your tongue were not stirring up something bad to say,
then shame would not seize your eyes
and you would be speaking about the just and honorable thing to do.

Longinus, On the Sublime:

Are you not amazed at how she evokes soul, body, hearing, tongue, sight, skin, as though they were external and belonged to someone else? And how at one and the same moment she both freezes and burns, is irrational and sane, is terrified and nearly dead, so that we observe in her not a single emotion but a whole concourse of emotions? Such things do, of course, commonly happen to people in love. Sappho’s supreme excellence lies in the skill with which she selects the most striking and vehement circumstances of the passions and forges them into a coherent whole.

Translations by other poets

Racine Phèdre (1677)

Je le vis, je rougis, je pâlis à sa vue;
Un trouble s’éleva dans mon âme éperdue;
Mes yeux ne voyaient plus, je ne pouvais parler,
Je sentis tout mon corps et transir et brûler.

Lord Byron (1820)

Equal to Jove that youth must be —
Greater than Jove he seems to me —
Who, free from Jealousy’s alarms,
Securely views thy matchless charms.
Ah! Lesbia! though ’tis death to me,
I cannot choose but look on thee;
But, at the sight, my senses fly,
I needs must gaze, but, gazing, die;
Whilst trembling with a thousand fears,
Parch’d to the throat my tongue adheres,
My pulse beats quick, my breath heaves short,
My limbs deny their slight support;
Cold dews my pallid face o’erspread,
With deadly languor droops my head,
My ears with tingling echoes ring,
And life itself is on the wing,
My eyes refuse the cheering light,
Their orbs are veil’d in starless night:
Such pangs my nature sinks beneath,
And feels a temporary death.

Alfred Lord Tennyson (1850)

I watch thy grace; and in its place
My heart a charmed slumber keeps,
While I muse upon thy face;
And a languid fire creeps
Thro’ my veins to all my frame,
Dissolvingly and slowly: soon
From thy rose-red lips my name
Floweth; and then, as in a swoon,
With dinning sound my ears are rife,
My tremulous tongue faltereth,
I lose my color, I lose my breath,
I drink the cup of a costly death,
Brimm’d with delirious draughts of warmest life.
I die with my delight, before
I hear what I would hear from thee.

T.S. Elliot The Waste Land (1922)

At the violet hour, the evening hour that strives
Homeward, and brings the sailor home from sea,
The typist home at teatime, clears her breakfast, lights
Her stove, and lays out food in tins.

(Inspired by Sappho’s fragment 104)

Two of Sappho’s poems: a) the Hymn to Aphrodite and b) the poem of Jealousy. Αncient text, modern Greek and English translations

ΣΑΠΦΩ  (LobelPage 1)

Aρχαίο κείμενο

Ποικιλόθρον᾽ ἀθάνατ᾽ ᾽Αφρόδιτα,
παῖ Δίος, δολόπλοκε, λίσσομαί σε
μή μ᾽ ἄσαισι μήτ᾽ ὀνίαισι δάμνα,
πότνια, θῦμον.

ἀλλὰ τυίδ᾽ ἔλθ᾽, αἴποτα κἀτέρωτα
τᾶς ἔμας αὔδως ἀίοισα πήλοι
ἔκλυες, πάτρος δὲ δόμον λίποισα
χρύσιον ἦλθες

ἄρμ᾽ ὐποσδεύξαια· κάλοι δέ σ᾽ ἆγον
ὤκεες στροῦθοι περὶ γᾶς μελαίνας
πύκνα δινεῦντες πτέρ᾽ ἀπ᾽ ὠράν᾽ αἴθε-
ρος διὰ μέσσω,

αἶψα δ᾽ ἐξίκοντο· σὺ δ᾽, ὦ μάκαιρα
μειδιάσαισ᾽ ἀθάνατῳ προσώπῳ,
ἤρε᾽ ὄττι δηὖτε πέπονθα κὤττι
δηὖτε κάλημι

κὤττι μοι μάλιστα θέλω γένεσθαι
μαινόλᾳ θύμῳ· “τίνα δηὖτε †πείθω
ἄψ σ᾽ ἄγην† ἐς σὰν φιλότατα; τίς τ᾽, ὦ
Ψάπφ᾽, ἀδίκηει;

καὶ γάρ αἰ φεύγει, ταχέως διώξει,
αἰ δὲ δῶρα μὴ δέκετ᾽, ἀλλὰ δώσει,
αἰ δὲ μὴ φίλει, ταχέως φιλήσει,
κωὐκ ἐθέλοισα”.

ἔλθε μοι καὶ νῦν, χαλέπαν δὲ λῦσον
ἐκ μερίμναν, ὄσσα δέ μοι τέλεσσαι
θῦμος ἰμέρρει, τέλεσον· σὐ δ᾽ αὔτα
σύμμαχος ἔσσο.

Μετάφραση   Παναγή Λεκατσά

Ομορφόθρονη αθάνατη Αφροδίτη,
κόρη του Δία, σου δέομαι, δολοπλέχτρα,
με πίκρες και καημούς μη, Δέσποινα,
παιδεύεις την ψυχή μου`

μα έλα μου, αν και κάποτε, από πέρα
μακριά, το κάλεσμά μου όμοι’ αγροικώντας,
ήρθες, το πατρικό παλάτι αφήνοντας
και το χρυσό σου αμάξι

ζεύοντας` κι όμορφα στρουθιά πετώντας
γοργά στη γη σε φέρανε τη μαύρη
παν’ απ’ τον ουρανό με φτεροκόπημα
πυκνό μεσ’ στον αιθέρα`

κι ως έφτασαν ταχιά, χαμογελώντας
με την αθάνατη όψη, ω μακαρία,
με ρώτησες σαν τι και πάλι να `παθα,
τι σε καλώ κοντά μου,

τι λαχταρά η ψυχή μου η φρενιασμένη
τόσο πολύ να γίνει: – “Ποια και πάλι
θες η Πειθώ να φέρει στην αγάπη σου;
Σαπφώ, ποια σ’ αδικάει;

Γιατί αν φεύγει, γοργά από πίσω θα `ρθει,
κι αν δεν παίρνει σου δώρα, θα σου φέρει`
τώρ’ αν δε σ’ αγαπάει, θα σ’ αγαπήσει
και δίχως να το θέλει”.

Ω, έλα μου και τώρα, κι’ απ’ τις μαύρες
τις έγνοιες λύσε με, κι ό,τι ν’ αληθέψει
ποθεί η ψυχή μου τέλεσ’ το κι ατή σου
συ γίνε ο βοηθός μου.

English translation by Josephine Balmer (1988)

Immortal Aphrodite, on your patterned throne,
daughter of Zeus, guile-weaver,
I beg you, goddess, don’t subjugate my heart
with anguish, with grief
but come to me now, if ever in the past
you have heard my distant pleas
and listened; leaving your father’s golden house
you came to me then
with your chariot yoked; beautiful swift sparrows
brought you around the dark earth
with a whirl of wings, beating fast from heaven
down through the mid-air
to reach me quickly; then you, my sacred goddess,
your immortal face smiling,
asked me what had gone wrong this time and this time
why I was begging
and what in my demented heart I wanted most
“who shall I persuade this time
to take you back, yet once again, to her love:
who wrong you, Sappho?
for if she runs away, soon she shall run after,
if she suns gifts, she shall give,
if she does not love you, soon she shall, even
against her own will”
So come to me now, free me from this aching pain,
fulfil everything that
my heart desires to [be] fulfil[led]: you, yes you,
will be my ally

English translation byAnne Carson (2002)

Deathless Aphrodite of the spangled mind,
child of Zeus, who twists lures, I beg you
do not break with hard pains,
O lady, my heart

but come here if ever before
you caught my voice far off
and listening left your father’s
golden house and came,

yoking your car. And find birds brought you,
quick sparrows over the black earth
whipping their wings down the sky
through midair–

they arrived. But you, O blessed one,
smiled in your deathless face
and asked what (now again) I have suffered and why
(now again) I am calling out

and what I want to happen most of all
in my crazy heart. Whom should I persuade (now again)
to lead you back into her love? Who, O
Sappho, is wronging you?

For if she flees, soon she will pursue.
If she refuses gifts, rather will she give them.
If she does not love, soon she will love
even unwilling.

Come to me now: loose me from hard
care and all my heart longs
to accomplish, accomplish. You
be my ally.

ΣΑΠΦΩ (LobelPage 31)        

Αρχαίο κείμενο

Φάινεταί μοι κῆνος ἴσος θέοισιν
ἔμμεν ὤνερ ὄττις ἐνάντιός τοι
ἰσδάνει καὶ πλασίον ἆδυ φωνεί-
σασ ὐπακούει

καὶ γελαίσας ἰμέροεν. τὸ δὴ ᾽μάν
καρδίαν ἐν στήθεσιν ἐπτόαισεν,
ὢς γὰρ εὔιδον βροχέωσ σε, φώνας
οὖδεν ἔτ᾽ εἴκει,

ἀλλὰ κὰμ μὲν γλῳσσα ϝέαγε, λέπτον
δ᾽ αὔτικα χρῷ πῦρ ὐπαδεδρόμακεν,
ὀππάτεσσι δ᾽ οὖδεν ορημμ᾽, ἐπιρρόμ-
βεισι δ᾽ ἄκουαι.

ἀ δέ μ᾽ ίδρως κακχέεται, τρόμος δὲ
παῖσαν ἄγρει χλωροτέρα δὲ ποίας
ἔμμι, τεθνάκην δ᾽ ὀλίγω ᾽πιδεύης
φαίνομαι ἄλλα·

ἀλλὰ πᾶν τόλματον, ἐπεὶ +καὶ πένητα

 Μετάφραση Παναγή Λεκατσά

Όμοια θεού μου φαίνεται η θωριά του
του αντρός αυτού που κάθεται αντικρύ σου
κι αγροικάει με λαχτάρα τη φωνή σου
σα μιλήσεις κοντά του

και γλυκά σαν γελάσεις` μα η καρδιά μου
στα στήθη μου από τούτο σπαρταράει
μόλις στρέψω και ιδώ σε ξεψυχάει
κι’ αποσβήν’ η λαλιά μου,

σαν τη γλώσσα μου κάτι να τσακίζει
σιγανή φλόγα τρέχει το κορμί μου,
θαμπωμένοι δεν βλέπουν οι οφθαλμοί μου,
κι η ακοή μου βουίζει,

ιδρώτ’ από τα μέλη μου αναδίνω,
κι όλη τρέμω, πιο πράσινη στο χρώμα
κι’ από χόρτο, και λέω πως λίγο ακόμα
και νεκρή θ’ απομείνω.

Κι όμως όλα τα υπομένω ακόμα, μια και…

Μετάφραση Οδυσσέα Ελύτη

Θεός μου φαίνεται στ΄ αλήθεια εμένα κείνος
ο άντρας που κάθεται αντίκρυ σου κι από
κοντά τη γλύκα της φωνής σου απολαμβάνει
και το γέλιο σου αχ που ξελογιάζει
και που λιώνει στο στήθος την καρδιά μου
σου τ΄ ορκίζομαι” γιατί μόλις που πάω να
σε κοιτάξω νιώθω ξάφνου μου κόβεται η μιλιά μου
μες στο στόμα η γλώσσα μου
στεγνώνει” πυρετός κρυφός με σιγοκαίει κι
ούτε βλέπω τίποτα ούτε ακούω μα
βουίζουν τ΄ αυτιά μου κι ένας κρύος ιδρώτας
το κορμί μου περιχάει” τρέμω σύγκορμη αχ
και πρασινίζω σάν το χόρτο και λέω πώς λίγο ακόμη”
λίγο ακόμη και πάει θα ξεψυχήσω.

English translation by Josephine Balmer (1988)

It seems to me that man is equal to the gods,
that is, whoever sits opposite you
and, drawing nearer, savours, as you speak,
the sweetness of your voice
and the trill of your laugh, which have so stirred the heart
in my own breast, that whenever I catch
sight of you, even if for a moment,
then my voice deserts me
and [my] tongue is struck silent, a delicate fire
suddenly races underneath my skin,
my eyes see nothing, my ears whistle [like
the whirling of a top]
and sweat pours down me and a trembling creeps over
my whole body, I am greener than grass;
at such times, I see to myse[lf] to be no more than
a step away from death
but all can be endured since even a pauper

English translation byAnne Carson (2002)

He seems to me equal to the gods that man
whoever he is who opposite you
sits and listens close
to your sweet speaking

and lovely laughing — oh it
puts the heart in my chest on wings
for when I look at you, even a moment, no speaking
is left in me

no: tongue breaks and thin
fire is racing under skin
and in eyes no sight and drumming
fills ears

and cold sweat holds me and shaking
grips me all, greener than grass
I am and dead — or almost
I seem to me.

But all is to be dared, because even a person of poverty . . .

This entry was posted in Σχόλια, Lesbos, poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sappho from Lesbos

  1. Yannis Manuelides says:

    Thank you for your post on Sappho. You may want to add to your beautiful collection of translations those of Constantine Trypanis appearing in The Penguin Book of Greek Verse (now sadly out of print). His translations are accurate, unpretentious but also beautiful in their respect for the words and the tone of the original.

    I am not so sure that Sappho is different in her individualism (as opposed to the way she expresses her individualism) from other lyric poets. Can one get more individualistic (in almost a base way) than the ριψασπις Archilochus, who writes to praise his dear little life with complete disregard for the virtues of honour and bravery?

    More generally, are these virtues (of say honour and bravery) perceived as civic virtues at the time of Archilochus and Sappho or are they still the heroic and individualistic virtues of the Homeric heroes? What personal lyric poetry ushers is not an individual perspective of the world but a non-heroic individual perspective where fear and cowardice (Archilochus) and passion and jealousy (Sappho) are not shameful signs of weakness, but constituents of our humanity just as deserving of acknowledgement as their “nobler” counterparts.

  2. Simplizissimus says:

    A good piece. Well presented, except from Sappho’s name in Modern Greek, which in the genitive case is Σαπφώς and not Σαπφούς.

Leave a Reply

